Aboriginal Languages Trust Board

The affairs of the Trust are managed by the Aboriginal Languages Trust Board. Following an extensive recruitment process, the inaugural Aboriginal Languages Trust Board commenced their five year term on 9 March 2020. The appointments were made with consideration given to having a diverse array of skillsets, experience and representation from different Language groups across NSW.

  • Mr Jason Behrendt

    Chairperson | Yuwaalaraay

    Managing Director, Chalk and Behrendt, Lawyers and Consultants.

    Mr Jason Behrendt is a Director of Chalk & Behrendt Lawyers, with an extensive career working with Aboriginal peoples across administrative, land rights, native title, and environmental planning and culture and heritage laws. He is also a member of the Indigenous Issues Committee and the Law Society of NSW. In 2019 Jason was awarded the Law Society of NSW’s President’s Medal for his contribution to the development of law and policy affecting Indigenous Australians during the past two decades.

  • Ms Catherine Trindall

    Deputy Chair | Gomeroi Murri Yinnar

    Ms Catherine Trindall has had a distinguished career as an educator. She is the Chair of the Tamworth Aboriginal Medical Service and Life member of the NSW Aboriginal Education Consultative Group Incorporated. Catherine has also held the role of the President of the NSW Aboriginal Education Consultative Group (AECG).

  • Prof Lindon Coombes


    Director, Jumbunna Institute for Indigenous Education and Research, University of Technology, Sydney.

    Professor Lindon Coombes has worked in Aboriginal Affairs for over 25 years and held leadership positions in Indigenous organisations including as the inaugural CEO of the National Congress of Australia’s First Peoples and CEO of Tranby Aboriginal College. He is currently the Director of the Jumbunna Institute for Indigenous Education and Research at the University of Technology, Sydney.

  • Ms Patricia Ellis


    Business Enterprise Owner/Operator, Minga Aboriginal Cultural Services.

    Ms Patricia Ellis OAM is a respected Brinja-Yuin woman from Moruya and teacher of the Dhurga language, who has been teaching and advising on local Aboriginal culture for over 39 years. She is currently Chairperson of the Eurobodalla Shire Council Aboriginal Advisory Committee and has represented her community in many different capacities over the past four decades. Patricia along with her siblings Kerry Boyenga and Waine Donovan are the proud authors of the published "Dhurga Dictionary and Learner's Grammar – A South East Coast NSW Aboriginal Language.”

  • Mr Raymond Ingrey


    Chairman, Gujaga Foundation.

    Mr Raymond Ingrey is from the La Perouse Aboriginal community and has been involved in leading Dharawal language reclamation for 20 years. He is the Chair of the Gujaga Foundation which leads Dharawal language, culture and research activities in the Sydney Coastal area and is the interim President for the Aboriginal Education Consultative Group (AECG). Raymond is an active member of the La Perouse Aboriginal Community Alliance and La Perouse Local Aboriginal Land Council.

  • Ms Fiona Kelly


    Executive Principal of Menindee Central School.

    Ms Fiona Kelly is a teacher from Menindee, where she is Executive Principal at Menindee Central School. Fiona sits on a number of education, language and community boards and committees, including the Menindee Community Working Party and the Menindee Local and Western 3 Regional Aboriginal Education Consultative Group (AECG).

  • Dr Raymond Kelly


    Deputy Head of School, The Wollotuka Institute, University of Newcastle.

    Raymond Kelly Snr was born and raised in Armidale NSW and is affiliated with several ‘First Peoples Groups’ including the Thangatti and Gumbayngirr peoples.Ray is actively engaged in the preservation and promotion of cultural activities including dance and song and storytelling.

  • Dr Lynette Riley


    Senior Lecturer, Sydney School of Education and Social Work, University of Sydney.

    Dr Lynette Riley is a Wiradjuri and Gamilaroi woman from Dubbo and Moree. She has a career spanning more than 40 years in Aboriginal education across primary, secondary and tertiary institutions, and is a senior lecturer at Sydney University’s School of Education and Social Work. Dr Riley is passionate about language and its role in the social and economic empowerment of Aboriginal people.

  • Mr Clark Webb


    CEO and founder of Bularri Muurlay Nyanggan Aboriginal Corporation.

    Mr Clark Webb is a Gumbaynggirr and Bundjalung man from Coffs Harbour and is a passionate advocate for education and the preservation of language. He is the CEO of Bularri Muurlay Nyanggan Aboriginal Corporation, which supports young people to engage with language and culture through education and is the owner/operator of Wajaana Yaam Gumbaynggirr Adventure Tours. Clark is leading the establishment of the Gumbaynggirr Giingana Freedom School, opening in 2022, as the first bilingual School of an Aboriginal language to be established in NSW. Clark was previously the Chair of the Galambila Aboriginal Health Service.

Collectively, the Board members bring a wealth of knowledge and experience to draw on to the work of the Trust.

The Aboriginal Languages Trust is led by Ms Clare McHugh, a Gamilaroi and Dhungutti woman who has strong associations with both the Redfern and La Perouse Aboriginal Communities.  She has held leadership roles in local, State and National Aboriginal community-controlled and not-for-profit organisations, including within the NSW Land Rights network and as the CEO of the National Centre of Indigenous Excellence. Clare brings a wealth of leadership experience and community knowledge to the work of the Trust.

Contact us for further information about the Trust.